Bray selected USA South All-Conference; Shelton All-Sportsmanship for men's golf

Bray selected USA South All-Conference; Shelton All-Sportsmanship for men's golf

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2019 All-Conference awards for men's golf, and Maryville College's Tyler Bray was selected as a Second-Team honoree. 

Bray completed his second season with the Scots this year, as the sophomore posted a 73.29 average score through seven tournament this season.

"I just want to say congratulations to Tyler for making the All-Conference team for a second year in a row," Maryville College Director of Golf Ron Waters said. "Tyler has had a really good season. I don't think he received as much recognition this year as he did last year when he was Rookie of the Week three times in the conference. His scoring average is actually lower this year, and he's improved on both his Par-3 and Par-5 scoring. So, it's a well deserved honor. Congratulations."

The Lutz, Fla. native won the Maryville College Invitational this season with his best score of the year. He shot a three-under 67 on the final day to finish at four-under for the tournament. He recorded a 136 on the par-70 Egwani Farms' course.

MC's DJ Shelton - a senior from Crossville, Tenn. - was also on the coveted conference list as the Scots' All-Sportsmanship honoree. 

Huntingdon College became just the second program in USA South golf history (Methodist, twice) to sweep all of the individual honors. Drew Mathers was named Player of the Year, Carson Whitton earned Rookie of the Year while their coach, Dave Schreyer, collected Coach of the Year accolades to wrap-up the individual awards. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors were determined by votes from the men's golf coach at each institution.

Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Drew Mathers

Carson Whitton

Dave Schreyer

The 2019 USA South Men's Golf All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
Grady Anderson, N.C. Wesleyan
Scott Campbell, Greensboro
Henry Gee, Huntingdon
Larkin Gross, Methodist
Drew Mathers, Huntingdon
Stephen Shephard, Huntingdon
Tyler Bray, Maryville
Sam Rogers, LaGrange
Dan Shepherd, Methodist
Mariano Silvestri, N.C. Wesleyan
Carson Whitton, Huntingdon
Ben Womack, LaGrange
Mathias Andersen, LaGrange
Connor Brown, Greensboro
Austin Fisher, Brevard
Brantley Phillips, Methodist
  Ben Potter, Averett
Thibault Tranchant, Brevard
Marshall Kent, Covenant
Zane Smith, Greensboro
Mark Connelly, Huntingdon
Nathan Garner, LaGrange
DJ Shelton, Maryville
Larkin Gross, Methodist
Dustin Wood, N.C. Wesleyan
Hunter Dillard, Pfeiffer
Michael Clardy, Piedmont
Cody McDaniel, William Peace